Pumpkin Recipes · Recipes

Pumpkin Pie Oatmeal

20121112-052921.jpg

My friend Kara gave me the idea to add pumpkin purée to my oatmeal. I hit the web to look for seasoning suggestions (since it would obviously be incredibly smaller than the typical “Two-Deep-Dish-Pies” measurements) and found several glowing gems. I was especially inspired by This Recipe Post on the Snixy Kitchen blog (heads’ up: Check out their Pumpkin Cheesecake Brownie Bites recipe too!).

In the end though, I needed something simple that I could throw together quickly while juggling two small boys in the morning. Luckily what I managed to throw together myself turned out deliciously. It was such a hit with my whole family, in fact, that I had to figure out a way to preserve the pumpkin purée in single servings for easier future breakfast prep. This was the solution:

20121112-052823.jpg

These covered ice cube trays are made by Baby Fresh and can be purchased online or at Babies R Us. They are BPA free and do an excellent job of keeping out that freezer funkiness that frozen puréed food tends to pick up. As you can see, we’ve already utilized the frozen pumpkin a few times since establishing this storage method in the freezer too. I had a few Baby Fresh trays on hand from my baby food making days, so filling them with pumpkin purée wasn’t much of a stretch for me. Just make sure you gently tap them on the counter after filling them to release air bubbles before you cover and freeze them. Otherwise you might pop out a pumpkin cube later and find it filled with 90% air bubble!

Ingredients

1 cup Rolled Oats (not the instant kind!)
1 cup Water
1/4 cup Pumpkin purée (two ice cubes, thawed)
1/4 cup Milk
3 teaspoons Pumpkin pie spice (or more, to taste)
1 spoonful of sugar (or more, to taste)

Directions

1. Combine the oats, water and pumpkin purée in a microwave-safe bowl. Microwave on high for three minutes.

2. Add remaining ingredients. Mix well.

3. Eat. Yum!
Makes two servings and is especially delicious with raisins sprinkled on top.

20121112-052921.jpg

2 thoughts on “Pumpkin Pie Oatmeal

Leave a Reply

