Pumpkin Recipes · Recipes

Roasting Pumpkins To Make Purée

First thing’s first: I need some pumpkin purée if I’m going to succeed at Pumpkin-palooza bake-athon! I’ve steamed fresh pumpkin before but everyone raves about roasting it, which I’m clueless about. I jumped on the fantastical inter-web and found simple and foolproof instructions at The District Domestic‘s blog …plus an adorable doggy/pumpkin photo to boot! Check out her original post HERE.

Ok, with The District Domestic‘s guidance, I will now roast not just one BUT TWO sugar pumpkins and make purée out of them…

“Start by washing the pie pumpkin (a great variety for pies is Baby Pam)…”


I used a Sugar variety of pumpkin and I have to admit, it was my first time washing a pumpkin. I used dish soap (not sure if that was correct to do, but it worked!), rinsed thoroughly then dried.

20121112-002941.jpg

“…then break off the stem and hack it in half…”


Snapping a stem off a pumpkin was surprisingly easy! So much so, my husband was impressed and antsy to try it on the second pumpkin.

20121112-003716.jpg

“…Then scoop out the seeds…”


So far, so good!

20121112-003939.jpg

“…Fill a 13×9″ pan with 1/4″ water. Place pumpkins skin side up…”


I used a cookie sheet with a rim so I could fit both pumpkins into my tiny oven at one time. It worked, but I had to be VERY steady sliding it in and out of the oven.

20121112-004146.jpg

“…roast at 400 degrees until very tender… This usually takes about 45 minutes to an hour…”


45 minutes was perfect in my oven!

20121112-004601.jpg

A stab with a fork confirmed that the pumpkin meat was soft and squishy under the now-dark-orange skin:

20121112-004911.jpg

“…Scoop the soft flesh from the skins…”


I just used a big metal spoon but it was like cutting into butter.

20121112-005026.jpg

“…puree in a food
processor…”


I ran the food processor on the “dough” setting for about two minutes, stopping halfway through to scrape the sides with a silicone spatula. The end result was much lighter than canned pumpkin but had an incredibly sweet, fresh and delicious smell. My three-year-old actually begged to lick the spatula… so I let him, without guilt! …and after cleaning it spotless, he BEGGED to dip it back in the purée for more!

20121112-005413.jpg

Oh my God! I actually did it!! The District Domestic is a genius!

20121112-010101.jpg

Now, let’s get cooking…

Leave a Reply

