Dessert Recipes · Recipes

Vanishing Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

20121119-164638.jpg
Classic Peanut Butter Cookies are a staple in our house and large batches are baked up at least once a month. Occasionally though, one of us gets a hankering for something different and our tight budget doesn’t allow us to run out and grab pricey ingredients like chocolate chips and nuts. The simple solution: Vanishing Oatmeal Raisin Cookies! I’ve tried several oatmeal cookie recipes from friends, family and all over the Internet but I always come back to the one printed on the inside of the lid on my canister of Quaker Rolled Oats. So here, in all it’s glory, is my go-to recipe, adapted from quakeroats.com:

Ingredients:

1/2 Cup(s) (1 stick) plus 6 tablespoons butter, softened
3/4 Cup(s) firmly packed brown sugar
1/2 Cup(s) granulated sugar
2 Eggs
1 Teaspoon(s) vanilla
1-1/2 Cup(s) all-purpose flour
1 Teaspoon(s) Baking Soda
1 Teaspoon(s) ground cinnamon
1/2 Teaspoon(s) salt (optional)
3 Cup(s) Quaker® Oats (quick or old fashioned, uncooked)
1 Cup(s) raisins

Directions:

“…Heat oven to 350°F. In large bowl, beat butter and sugars on medium speed of electric mixer until creamy…”


I don’t own a mixer, so I melted the butter for easier mixing.

20121119-164107.jpg

“…Add eggs and vanilla; beat well…”


My handy silicon spatula did a good job combining everything!

20121119-164236.jpg

“…Add combined flour, baking soda, cinnamon and salt; mix well…”


Getting thicker! Smells SO GOOD too! And it’s not even baking yet!

20121119-164333.jpg

“…Add oats and raisins; mix well…”


Again, you have to get creative when you don’t own an electric mixer. Adding oats and raising into the dough meant removing my rings and getting my hands dirty. Charlie walked into the kitchen at this point, saw me mixing something with my hands and assumed I was making dinner:

“Yay!!! Meatballs!!”

For the first time in his life, Charlie was actually disappointed to find out I was making cookies.

20121119-164419.jpg

“…Drop dough by rounded tablespoonfuls onto ungreased cookie sheets…”


At this point, Charlie was thoroughly confused. Yes, I was rolling cookie dough like meatballs…but I was NOT making meatballs!! He started calling them “Meatball Cookies”.

20121119-164508.jpg

“…Bake 8 to 10 minutes or until light golden brown. Cool 1 minute on cookie sheets;…”


My oldest child FINALLY stopped begging for meatballs when he saw those cookies come out of the oven. And then came the torture of waiting ONE-FULL-MINUTE before I would let him have one.

20121119-164557.jpg

“…Remove to wire rack. Cool completely. Store tightly covered.”


HAHAHAHA!!!!…oh wait. You’re serious?! You mean some people actually have **leftover** cookies they need to “store”?!!

20121119-164638.jpg

One thought on “Vanishing Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

Leave a Reply

