Product Reviews · Uncategorized

PopSimply Microwave Popcorn Maker (Review)

I was struggling to decide which of my Amazon reviewed items I wanted to write about first. I’ve had the privilege of testing a lot of cool stuff! But then I realized there’s only one that we continue to use at least three times a week, that has saved us a ton of money, makes eating healthier fun and has me questioning the integrity of the entire advertising and consumer products industry…

A simple Microwave popcorn popper

13838379_10208727815725059_1810743178_o

The accurately named PopSimply popper is just that: Simple. It is easy to use, easy to wash, easy to store and just incredibly well designed.

Made of 100% food grade silicone (even the lid!), the PopSimply is BPA and PVC free,  FDA approved, totally non-toxic, dishwasher safe and freezer safe… although I have no idea why you would put it in a freezer! But why do I love it?

It makes popcorn healthier… and for less money

That’s right: PopSimply makes healthy snacking affordable. We used to buy brand name microwavable popcorn at the dollar store. We thought getting four packets of buttery microwave popcorn for $1 was a steal. Plus we got to choose between big brand names, which meant it was “safe” too… right? WRONG! First of all, $0.25 per serving is a total ripoff when we can buy TWO FRIGGIN’ POUNDS of fancy Amish Country Rainbow Popcorn for $2.65. Considering the PopSimply makes a huge bowl of popcorn with just a 1/4 cup of kernels, two pounds will make approximately 16 batches of popcorn… which is about $0.15 per batch. It’s even cheaper when we buy the two pound bag of generic kernels at the grocery store for $1.20! But you’d think “generic” would mean it wouldn’t taste as good as the brand name stuff with the creepy bespectacled old man on the box… Wrong again! Not only is the PopSimply popped generic corn comparable in quality and texture, but we pop it with just a teaspoon of olive oil and a light sprinkle of salt instead of using scary crap like “partially hydrogenated” “artificial flavor” “color added” and “TBHQ“.

13844110_10208727815965065_1209280802_o
For the record: This is 1/3 cup of kernals… which ended up overflowing and filling the microwave itself with popcorn. It took a little trial and error to determine 1/4 cup is perfect.

It reduces waste

Think about the packaging involved in using those convenient individual packets of microwave popcorn. There’s the box itself… filled with four or more of those paper envelopes… each wrapped in plastic… not to mention the paper or plastic bag it comes home from the store in. We just stick our PopSimply in the dishwasher when we’re done with it. The only thing that hits a landfill is the bag from the kernels once every few months. That’s a HUGE improvement when you consider how often a typical family consumes popcorn (especially during the recent Olympics! Go team USA!).

13646891_10208727816005066_1048484200_o
This is the extent of waste produced by our PopSimply.

It’s easy to use

I’ll give you a breakdown of the process:

  1. Take the PopSimply out of the cabinet and pop it open.
  2. Add 1/4 popcorn kernels.
  3. Put the lid on top of the kernels (it fits inside the orange bowl).
  4. Microwave for approximately 2 minutes.
  5. Add a bit of olive oil or melted butter, sprinkle with salt and mix.
  6. Throw the PopSimply in the dishwasher.
13844139_10208727815845062_2141696309_o
That’s fresh hot popcorn in about two minutes.

It folds

No joke. It actually folds down for easy storage. I think of making popcorn from kernels and imagine the nightmare of wrestling an otherwise useless small appliance that takes up a huge chunk of kitchen storage space. Nope. I literally pull the PopSimply out of the dishwasher, shake off any remaining water, pop it into the folded position and throw it into the cupboard on top of the stack of plates. It literally weighs nothing and takes up barely any space at all.

13662395_10208727815885063_1254407615_o
See what I mean?

Like I said in previous posts, I get absolutely no compensation for writing about this. It just blows my mind that fresh hot popcorn can be SO GOOD and still be cheap, healthier, convenient AND better for the environment. I honestly can’t believe we’ve lived this long without one of these. Seriously, my husband and I were eating popcorn the other night and discussing what the process must have been like to convince consumers to even TRY those boxed pre-buttered popcorn packets… let alone commit to them so wholeheartedly that buying kernels for popping has become a secondary industry. Like, how do you convince people that it’s a good thing that you made an affordable snack EXPENSIVE so they can consume it coated in added poisons and preservatives while creating extra trash under the ruse that it’ll be “more convenient” than a process that already only takes a couple minutes? It sounds like a juicy episode of Mad Men. But it happened. Our consumer society took the bait and for generations the majority of us haven’t known any better.

It took a product sample for an Amazon review (of all things) to open my eyes. Now I wish I could start a “popcorn movement” or something. Return to the old ways of popping corn… but more conveniently and with less risk of burning your house down. You know, with the microwave! …An idea that obviously hasn’t caught on since I noticed that between the time I received my PopSimply on July 25, 2016 and the time that I’m writing this on August 29, 2016 the Amazon listing for PopSimply has vanished. Luckily I was able to find their WordPress page and I highly recommend anyone who is interested in their amazing product drop them a line and encourage them to climb back on the Amazon bandwagon. This trend needs to catch on!!! Don’t give up, PopSimply!

Disclaimer: As an Amazon Top Reviewer, this item was provided to me either for free or at a huge discount in order to facilitate a review on Amazon. I pride myself on being an honest person though, so my opinion was not influenced in any way. I am also in no way obligated (or compensated) to share it here. I test hundreds of products for Amazon reviewing. Only a fraction of them are shared on my blog. That’s because only a fraction of them are extraordinary… in my opinion, anyway!   

One thought on “PopSimply Microwave Popcorn Maker (Review)

Leave a Reply

