Chicken Recipes · Recipes

Slow Cooker Indigeny Hard Cider Pulled Chicken

image

Thanks to the blessing and curse that is Pinterest, I recently stumbled across Cupcakes and Kale Chip‘s recipe for Slow-Cooker Apple Cider Pulled Chicken Sandwiches. It sounded incredibly delicious… and incredibly convenient since I had chicken breast and a pack of burger buns in the freezer. What really sealed the deal was the 10-pack of Indigeny Hard Cider my husband had just stocked the fridge with.

image

If you haven’t tried Indigeny Hard Cider, I strongly recommend it. The Indigeny Reserve isn’t far from our home, so not only is the cider delicious but I love supporting local business. Win-win!

Needless to say, I was excited to try cooking with Indigeny and this recipe made it easy. I altered it slightly to work with ingredients I had on hand but the end result was amazing. It was aromatic, juicy and screamed apple-ie, Autumn-ie comfort food. This is how I made it:

INGREDIENTS:

2 small apples (I used 1 Granny Smith and 1 Red Delicious), peeled and sliced
1 large sweet onion, sliced
2 lbs boneless, skinless chicken breasts
1 t salt
1 t pepper
1 t paprika
2 t dry mustard
1 (12 oz) bottle Indigeny hard cider
1 pack hamburger buns
8 oz. sharp cheddar, sliced

image

DIRECTIONS:

Cover the bottom of the slow cooker with the slices of apple and onion.

Place the chicken in a single layer on top of the apples and onions.

Sprinkle the chicken with the seasonings.

Pour the bottle of Indigeny Hard Cider over the chicken.

Cook on low for 6 to 8 hours (depending on your slow cooker), until the chicken shreds easily.

Carefully remove the chicken from the slow cooker (be careful! It’ll be hot!) and use two forks to shred the meat.

Return the shredded chicken to the slow cooker and toss it with the apples, onions and juices.

Serve the shredded chicken on hamburger buns with a slice of sharp chedder.

Try not to melt into a dreamlike state when you take the first bite. Yum.

image

This dish pairs perfectly with a nice cold – Wait. I don’t really need to tell you what to serve this with, right?!

3 thoughts on “Slow Cooker Indigeny Hard Cider Pulled Chicken

  1. Holy cow, this looks amazing! I’ve made pulled chicken with root beer, but didn’t even think about hard cider. I am definitely doing this like tonight. Well, probably next week since we don’t have pork in the freezer right now, but I am totally doing this as soon as possible.

    We have a ton of venison in the freezer. Do you think that would be good with the hard cider too? Or should I just tough it out and wait until I make it to the store for some pork?

Leave a Reply

